Home > *Music, InsideOut, News, Nuclear Blast > Upcoming Album Reviews

Upcoming Album Reviews

November 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As you all know, my major contribution to this blog have been my infamous early reviews for albums (mainly progressive or metal).  My obvious silence is a result of a lack of exciting album releases these past months, as well as personal reasons. But with our primary contributor leaving, I feel obligated to help seal the cracks in this dilapidated site. Some of you are probably asking, “Are you still alive and well?” Uh, well… we’re still alive. Now I don’t have any definite plans for the near future, but if this blog is still up and running into the new year, here’s what I have coming:

(Note: Yes, I know they are all metal, but I can keep an open-mind. If there are any requests, give a shout out.)

Upcoming Metal Releases

  • The following are albums which I am highly anticipating and will most likely review

Helloween: Unarmed – Best of 25th Anniversary

Dec 16, 2009 – Japan, SE Asia; Jan 29, 2010

Helloween is one of the pioneers of power metal. They are releasing an album of re-recorded Helloween songs, but with the Prague Symphony Orchestra. Due to the numerous changes in the lineup, I am highly curious as to how they will compare to the original recordings. Hopefully, it will be a rediscovery of masterpieces rather than a wreckage.

Iron Maiden: TBA (2010)

Arguably the best metal band of all time, Iron Maiden is one of the pioneers of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. Not much has been said about their new album, only that it is due to be finished in 2010 (stated by drummer, McBrain; confirmed by guitarist, Gers). Recent releases by the band have been highly memorable, and I expect this upcoming release to be no different.

Kamelot: TBA (Feb/Mar 2010)

The symphonic power metal band, Kamelot, is graced with one of the greatest singers in the industry: vocal perfectionist, Roy Khan. Hopefully he showcases more than in the previous release, Ghost Opera. The upcoming release will be heavier than their old material. This may be a welcome change, though I am not overly confident.

Pain of Salvation: Road Salt (Early 2010)

I am ashamed to say that I have never heard PoS. Apparently, they are a widely acclaimed progressive metal band which is described by wiki as “characterised by powerful, accentuated guitar work, broad vocal range, abrupt switching between heavy and calm passages, intense syncopation, and polyrhythmic experimentation…”  I’m VERY excited to listen!

Symphony X: TBA (2010)

Last, but certainly not least, is one of my favorite bands: the neo-classical, progressive metal band, Symphony X. Their previous two releases, The Odyssey and Paradise Lost, rank among my top albums, so this upcoming release should not disappoint. I am anticipating the highest level of musical complexities, as well as astounding instrumentals; the typical Symphony X.

If you are looking for a reason to listen to this band, check out their extraordinary guitarist, Michael Romeo.

More Upcoming Metal Releases

  • The following albums are those which I am less enticed by, and may or may not be reviewed by myself

3: TBA (2010)

It was at a Dream Theater concert that I discovered the band, 3. They had one song that I really got into, but I have not found enough interest to follow up on them. However, I do think they’re rather talented and if I have the time, I would love to give a listen to their upcoming album. That being said, it has not found its way to my priority list may not get reviewed.

Anthrax: Worship Music (May 2010?)

Anthrax is one of the “big four” of thrash metal, and have influenced many metal bands with their music. However, they have been unable to attain my interest since their singer, Joey Belladonna, was replaced with a harsher, gruffer vocal sound. Along with this, there was a switch in vocalists during the production of this album, which may have a negative impact on its quality. Despite these repulsive circumstances, I might give this a listen, though I make no promise.

Manowar: Hammer of the Gods (2010)

Interesting fact 1: the release of Hammer of the Gods is accompanied by a book, video game, and film. Interesting fact 2: Manowar currently holds the record for longest heavy metal concert, which was 5 hours and 1 minute. I would definitely love to check out this album (and this band), but Manowar is competing with many other power metal bands which are fixated in my sights. I will do my best to make time for this album.

Testament: TBA (2010)

Like many, I found the latest Testament album, The Formation of Damnation, to be a strong return to the thrash scene. However, it was without doubt a shift towards the heavier, growlier side of things. For this reason, I am unsure whether I will enjoy this coming album or not. Testament is surely one of the better thrash metal bands, so I’m praying that they won’t veer away from my musical tastes. I hope I will find the desire to listen to and review this album.

Well that’s it for now, folks. If you want a specific album reviewed, just give us a holler and we’ll see what we can do.

Hopefully, this has given you something to look forward to. And hopefully, this has settled some of your concerns for the future of this blog. But most importantly, I hope, this has satisfied you, the readers, in any way possible. Remember, hope is a good thing, and no good thing ever dies (Shawshank Redemption). Have hope for Double True! :)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

