Home > *Music, Reviews, Roadrunner > Mutiny Within – Mutiny Within: Review

Mutiny Within – Mutiny Within: Review

February 5, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Though they’ve been together since 2002, Mutiny Within is only now releasing their eponymous debut album. It is due on February 23. Some are very excited, others are unimpressed; I am somewhere in between.

The Music (rating: B)

  1. Awake
  2. Images
  3. Falling Forever
  4. Years of Affliction
  5. Forsaken
  6. Lethean
  7. Oblivion
  8. Undone
  9. Hours
  10. Suffocate
  11. Reflections

Mutiny Within has a distinctly modern sound reminiscent of such metalcore bands as Killswitch Engage. There are catchy riffs with a mixture clean and screamed vocals. It is mainly metalcore, but subtly employs a minuscule amount of progressive and power metal elements. The album is nothing standout, but does have its share of pleasantries.

Some have been bashing the album for its vocals. On the contrary, I thought they were rather decent. Although, the screaming feels unnecessary and seems like an attempt to reach out to a younger audience. The clean vocals are heavy enough as they are, in my opinion, and the screaming detracts from the potential the album could have reached. However, this is merely a personal opinion.

The general sound of this album is somewhat generic for this time. It does not reach for any extra attention, but follows a safe, established path. The repetition is not only of other artists, but also of the album itself. Midway through this record, the songs begin blending together. It does not offer any new insight to modern metal, but rather embraces the norms.

On the upside, the instrumental performances were no doubt above average. The guitar work is quite entertaining in conjunction with the drumming. Also, the bass serves as effective support, with the occasional burst into the spotlight. The vocals, as mentioned earlier, are quite decent, showing off a noteworthy range.

However, much of the musicianship is merely showing off. There is little substance in the album. It mainly consists of flashy riffs intertwined with catchy melodies. Not much is offered in terms of deeper appreciation. But I would give them the benefit of the doubt, for this is a debut album. Time is necessary for the band to outgrow their reliance on flashiness and popular opinion.

The self-titled release is a good starting point for Mutiny Within, though I do hope they reach their potential soon. Based on their instrumental technicality, it seems as though this band can go places. Still, they need to expand their creative thought and make themselves a band to be noticed. If they can improve on this, they may be able to achieve more than “above average” releases.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: