Home > *Music, Reviews > Ozzy Osbourne – Scream: Review

Ozzy Osbourne – Scream: Review

On June 15, the metal legend Ozzy Osbourne released his latest album, Scream. It marks the departure of former guitarist Zakk Wylde. Still, the album probably would not be any better or worse with him. Although it is not the worst album, I think many would agree with me when I say I think Ozzy should call it quits.

The Music (rating: C+)

  1. Let it Die
  2. Let Me Hear You Scream
  3. Soul Sucker
  4. Life Won’t Wait
  5. Diggin’ Me Down
  6. Crucify
  7. Fearless
  8. Time
  9. I Want it More
  10. Latimer’s Mercy
  11. I Love You All

Scream is extremely radio-friendly for a metal album. Many of the songs have the same feel as the recent Ozzy hit single, “I Don’t Wanna Stop”. In fact, “Let Me Hear You Scream” can be seen as a follow-up to that particular song. The album is completely different from Ozzy’s work with Randy Rhodes, so do not expect any vintage sounding tracks. Much of it sounds like mainstream, radio metal with Ozzy’s touch. It does not have a unique style to it.

Most of the instrumentals are quite bland. The exception is the guitar work by newcomer Gus G. His performance is not stellar, but he does deliver catchy, creative riffs with more-than-filler solos. However, the rest of the instruments seemed to do little more than the bare minimum. And to top it off, Ozzy’s vocal phrasing is often unoriginal and uninteresting. It is not technical nor creative. His phrasing is a blatant attempt to get songs stuck in the listeners head as quickly as possible; it can be really annoying. But the remaining instruments do not go out of their way to counterbalance the vocals. The guitar is the only salvageable instrument, but there are tons of performances that top this one. None of the instruments are able to hold their ground in this album.

The creative aspect of the album is also lacking. It is highly generic, with very little to distinguish it from the majority of heavy metal. The songs are very boring, following the simplest song structures and rhythms. Scream does have variety, containing some softer songs in conjunction with the metal. However, neither styles are executed to a level worth listening to. Ozzy’s material has never been overly technical regarding instruments, but the musicianship that should have saved this album failed to do so.

Ozzy will always be a respected figure in the metal community for his impact on the genre. However, Scream has shown us that he will most likely never be able to impact heavy metal the way he once did. It is a sub-par effort from an artist far past his prime. My advice: disregard this album and just remember Ozzy as the influential musician he once was.

Categories: *Music, Reviews Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: