Home > *Music, Reviews > Jag Panzer – The Scourge of the Light: Review

Jag Panzer – The Scourge of the Light: Review

On February 28, Jag Panzer released their latest album entitled The Scourge of the Light. It is their first album since the departure of their long-time guitarist, Chris Broderick, who is currently playing for Megadeth. The significance of this happening cannot be determined, but what is certain is that something that was once had is now missing in this album.

The Music (rating: B)

  1. Condemned to Fight
  2. The Setting of the Sun
  3. Bringing the End
  4. Call to Arms
  5. Cycles
  6. Overlord
  7. Let it Out
  8. Union
  9. Burn
  10. The Book of Kells

The Scourge of the Light has a general sound reminiscent of the rest of Jag Panzer’s work; it is a definitive mixture of heavy and power metal. It is quite guitar-heavy with gruff, powerful vocals which show a healthy range. The drums and bass are quite hard-hitting, but mainly used for support. This record gives basically what is expected from the band in terms of style.

But with quality, those with high expectations (such as myself) are left underpaid. There was great potential with this release, but it is simply left unreached. Inconsistency is the biggest issue in The Scourge of the Light. There are a few moments of marvel, but they are overwhelmed by generic riffs, bland solos, and uninspired vocal phrasing. As a result, not a single track on the record is memorable. A perfect example is the opening track, “Condemned to Fight”. It opens with a neat melody worked into very complimentary instrumentals – something that could really go somewhere. Instead of developing it further, the music moves on to an ordinary palm-muted, speed-picked riff with unnecessary typical shredding. This happens too much in this album, resulting in songs filled with unmemorable, standard sections.

The band members themselves are above standard, and that much is clear in this release. The area of concern is not their level of playing, but the lack of creativity within their playing. Yes, they can all play difficult arrangements and faster than most, but all the technical appreciation is lost in the mundane phrasing and lack of spontaneity. Again, this all leads back to why the songs are unmemorable.

Still, the record is a semi-enjoyable listen. There is nothing really wrong with it, but there also is nothing really right. It is not a must-hear, but it surely is not a wasted hour. If expectations are neutral or anything below, this release cannot disappoint. The Scourge of the Light is basically a major tease in which Jag Panzer shows how great they could be but never actually hit that level.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: