Home > *Music, Reviews > Cauldron – Burning Fortune: Review

Cauldron – Burning Fortune: Review

On February 4, the heavy metal band Cauldron released Burning Fortune. Cauldron is a relatively new Canadian group trying to re-create the glory of classic metal. However, while they have the re-creation part right, they fall short on the glory part.

The Music (rating: C+)

  1. All or Nothing
  2. Miss You to Death
  3. Frozen in Fire
  4. Tears Have Come
  5. I Confess
  6. Rapid City/Unchained Assault
  7. Queen of Fire
  8. Breaking Through
  9. Taken by Desire

Burning Fortune has a very distinct old-school metal sound to it. It is rather riff-based with high-pitch vocals and speedy, supportive basslines and drumming rhythms. Even the production is quite vintage and raw-sounding. Basically everything in this album is an attempt to exhume the lost art of classic metal; even the album art! Unfortunately, the record has everything but the crucial spark which has immortalized the olden heavy metal.

Everything one needs to know about this album is in the first song. The next eight tracks are essentially clones with minor tweaks. The first song starts off with a decent guitar riff and a nice scream leading into a rather filler solo. Then come the clean vocals singing typical heavy metal lyrics with some simple, catchy phrasing. The structure is basically a verse-chorus-solo-bridge structure with some extra guitar solos tossed in there, none overly spectacular. Again, all of this has been done before (and noticeably better)… decades and decades ago.  As a standalone track, “All or Nothing” is not too shabby, but a little stale and generic: B-. However, the album is overloaded with average (B-) tracks. And not only that, they are all far too similar to one another, each trying to revive the spirit older classics unsuccessfully. This is a significant and tragic devaluing of the record’s overall quality.

Based solely on the individual quality of the tracks, Burning Fortune is average at best and only enjoyable by die-hard heavy metal risorgimento supporters. The musical composition and the instrumental performance are both mediocre in every track. It is due to the lack of depth or any highlights that lessen the record’s value even further. This is an album of style, not substance. Ironically, there really is no fire or richness to the music in this album called Burning Fortune.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: